Quick and easy

by morganallison

I’ve known how to knit for probably about 4 or 5 years, although I rarely do so mostly because it takes so long to complete a project. I have this thing I call “nursing school-onset ADD” where I can start a ton of different projects, but it’s exceedingly difficult to actually finish something. So, I have a remedy: a quick, easy project that is cute, affordable, and functional. I actually crocheted this rather than knitted it because I heard crocheting was faster. If you know how to knit already it’s fairly simple to teach yourself to crochet and vice versa. I just looked up videos on youtube and I learned everything I needed to know to make this–so don’t go buy any fancy books on crocheting.

Wildfire Cowl

What you’ll need:

2 skeins of Lion Brand Homespun yarn in “Wildfire” (or color of your choice)

1 Size K (10.5) Crochet Hook

Scissors

A bobby pin

Me wearing the finished product

First, Chain 46 (single chain)

Row 1: Double-chain in the 4th chain from hook and in each chain across.
Row 2:  Chain 3 (counts as first double-chain here and throughout), turn. Working in front loops only, double-chain in each stitch across.
Row 3: Chain 3, turn. Working in back loops only, double-chain in each stitch across.

Repeat rows 2 and 3 until piece measures about 30 inches or so. Test the length by holding the scarf around your neck and joining at the ends to see how long it is. This pattern is a modified version of a Lion Brand pattern. That pattern called for 3 skeins of yarn and for the finished product to measure 50 in. Once I got to around 25 or 30 in., I found that I liked a more close-fitting cowl. I only used 1 and 1/2 skeins of the yarn. After you bind off, be sure to leave a long strand in order to weave in the ends to form the circular cowl. The pattern on Lion Brand Yarn’s website says you need to use a large-eye blunt needle, but I just used a bobby pin and it worked great! Fasten tightly, trim the loose ends, and enjoy!

